Gilles LESIMPLE
Winegrower at Chavignol
Conception Direct@Web

The vineyard

The vineyards of Sancerre are about two hours from Paris.

There we find two grape varieties: Sauvignon Blanc for the AOC Sancerre Blanc (about 75% of the appellation), and Pinot Noir for the AOC Sancerre Rouge and Rosé.

They extend over an area of about 3,000 hectares. There are three key types of terroir in Sancerre:

Terroirs calcaires

Limestone

Aged about 148 million years. Named ‘Les Caillottes’ (little stones), they are situated between the Marnes and Sancerre. The rock varies between a soft yellowish limestone and the more compact, whiter limestone. This terroir accounts for about 40% of the vineyards.

Terroirs marnes kimméridgiennes

Marnes (the White lands)

Aged about 145 million years, born in the Jurassic and Kimmeridgian period. The ‘White Earth’ is to be found more on the western side of Sancerre, and represents about 40% of the vineyards. Its composition alternates between layers of Marne (70% clay), and white limestone (30%).

Terroirs silex

Silex

Aged about 53 million years, the flint-clay soils are made up of flints, clay and clay conglomerates. The flint aids the continual re-heating of the vines, its formations run along the Loire, and culminate in the tops of the hills on the Eastern side of the appellation. This rock type represents about 15% of the domaine.

Mentions légales
Réalisation Direct@Web

Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health, please consume with moderation

Gilles LESIMPLE
Vigneron à Chavignol

Le vignoble

Le vignoble de Sancerre se situe à deux heures de Paris.

On y trouve deux cépages : le Sauvignon Blanc pour l'AOC Sancerre Blanc (environ 75% de l'appellation), et le Pinot Noir, pour les AOC Sancerre Rouge et Rosé.

Il s'étend sur une superficie d'environ 3000 hectares. On distingue trois types de terroirs à Sancerre :

Terroirs calcaires

Les calcaires

Agé de 148 millions d'années. Surnomé « les Caillottes », ils sont situés entre les Marnes et Sancerre. La roche varie entre le calcaire jaunâtre et tendre, ou le calcaire blanc et plus compacte. Ils représentent 40% du vignoble.

Terroirs marnes kimméridgiennes

Les marnes ou Terres Blanches

Agé d'environ 145 millions d'années, nées du jurassique et du kimméridgien. Les terres blanches sont orientées plus à l'ouest de Sancerre et représentent 40% du vignoble. Sa composition alterne d'épaisses couches de marnes (70% d'argile) et de calcaire blanc (30%).

Terroirs silex

Les silex

Agé d'environ 53 millions d'années, les terres argilo-silicieuses sont composés de silex, d'argiles et de conglomérats silicieux. Le silex assure un réchauffement continuel de la vigne, ses formations bordent la Loire et correspondent aux parties culminantes des collines à l'est du vignoble. Cette terre représente environ 15% du domaine.

Mentions légales
Réalisation Direct@Web

L'abus d'alcool est dangeureux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération